The intelligence of machines and the branch of computer science which aims to create it

Artificial Intelligence Journal

Subscribe to Artificial Intelligence Journal: eMailAlertsEmail Alerts newslettersWeekly Newsletters
Get Artificial Intelligence Journal: homepageHomepage mobileMobile rssRSS facebookFacebook twitterTwitter linkedinLinkedIn

Artificial Intelligence Authors: Yeshim Deniz, Liz McMillan, Pat Romanski, Elizabeth White, Zakia Bouachraoui

Related Topics: Artificial Intelligence Journal

News Feed Item

Peter Schjeldahl, Art Critic for the New Yorker, in conversation with Ben Brantley, Chief Theater Critic of the New York Times, Receive the 2014 Appraisers Association of America Award for Excellence in the Arts

10th Annual Award Luncheon April 23, 2014, New York Athletic Club

NEW YORK, April 14, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Appraisers Association of America is pleased to announce that Peter Schjeldahl, Art Critic for the New Yorker will be receiving the 2014 Appraisers Association Award for Excellence in the Arts. The award will be presented at their 10th Annual Award Luncheon on April 23, 2014 at the New York Athletic Club in New York City.

Peter Schjeldahl has been a writer at The New Yorker since 1998, after leaving the The Village Voice, from 1980 to 1998. Schjeldahl previous wrote for the New York Times, and appeared in ArtforumArt in America, the New York Times MagazineVogue, and Vanity Fair.  Schjeldahl has received the Frank Jewett Mather Award from the College Art Association, for excellence in art criticism, and a Guggenheim Fellowship.  He is the author of four books, including "The Hydrogen Jukebox: Selected Writings".

Schjeldahl will be joined in conversation by his friend and colleague Ben Brantley, Chief Theater Critic at The New York Times

Presenting this year's keynote address is Massimiliano Gioni, Curator, 55th Venice Biennale and Associate Director of the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York.

For ten years, the Appraisers Association has celebrated the individual achievements of leading art world personalities whose bold and expansive vision has enhanced the way we appreciate art. Past recipients include Ai Weiwei (2013), Linda Nochlin (2012), Arne Glimcher (2011), Martin Margulies (2010), Thomas Krens (2009), John Richardson (2008), Wendell Garrett (2007), Christo and Jeanne-Claude (2006) and Susan Weber (2005).

About the Appraisers Association
The Appraisers Association of America, founded in 1949, is a non-profit organization of personal property appraisers specializing in the fine and decorative arts.  Our Members provide appraisals for purposes of insurance, charitable donation, estate tax liability, equitable distribution, purchase and sale.  Members are compliant with the Uniform Standard of Professional Appraisal Practice as mandated by The Appraisal Foundation, a congressionally authorized body to develop standards for all appraisers.  

CONTACT: Linda Selvin   
212-889-5404, x12
[email protected]

SOURCE Appraisers Association of America

More Stories By PR Newswire

Copyright © 2007 PR Newswire. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PRNewswire content is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of PRNewswire. PRNewswire shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.